New Gateway Board Takes Oath of Office | GCTC

New Gateway Board Takes Oath of Office

Newly appointed members of the Gateway Community & Technical College board of directors were sworn into office at a board meeting at the colleges Boone Campus Thursday.

Those taking the oath of office were Joseph H. Creaghead of Fort Mitchell; Chad L. Day, Covington; Jeffrey Groob, Covington; Kenneth Paul, Fort Thomas; Dr. Julie Ann Smith-Morrow, Newport; Iversy Velez, Florence; and Paul Whalen, Fort Thomas.
The six were appointed to the board by Governor Steve Beshear.

Groob was elected temporary chair, and Paul was elected temporary vice chair. They will serve in these capacities until new officers are elected at the boards next regular meeting. Groob and Paul are returning board members, having been reappointed by the governor.

In other action, the board approved the college budget request that was prepared by the colleges administration and submitted the request to the Kentucky Community and Technical College System, which has final budgetary authority for the system and its 16 member colleges. The KCTCS Board of Regents approved the system budget on June 13.