Gateway Hosts Joint Induction Ceremony | GCTC

Gateway Hosts Joint Induction Ceremony

Gateway Community & Technical College initiated 40 new members into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and the National Technical Honor Society in a joint induction ceremony Nov. 20 at the colleges Boone Campus.

Phi Theta Kappa is the two-year college version of the more well-known Phi Beta Kappa, an academic honor society that recognizes student scholars. According to the PTK national web site, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education, serving more than 2 million members and 1,200 chapters, located in all 50 states and numerous countries around the world.

Membership is based on superior academic achievement and is conferred only by invitation, said Amy Monson, coordinator of career services for Gateway. The honor society recognizes and rewards high-achieving students, and develops such critical skills as problem solving, project planning, team building, effective communication and conflict resolution.

Candidates for full membership into PTK must have completed 12 semester hours of associate degree course work through Gateway, attain a 3.5 grade-point average, adhere to Gateway's conduct code and follow the membership application process. Annually, approximately 100,000 students are inducted into Phi Theta Kappa, according to the national web site. Gateway inducted 33 members at the most recent ceremony.

NTHS encourages higher scholastic achievement, cultivates a desire for personal excellence and helps top students find success in today's highly competitive workplace according to the NTHS web site.

Students inducted into the National Technical Honor Society have earned this respect by attaining high academic performance and strong moral integrity in Gateway Community and Technical Program certificate and diploma programs, said Coordinator of Institutional Research Steve Popple. Students inducted into NTHS can confidently communicate to potential employers their achievement of excellence based on what they have done in their academic studies.

Candidates must attain a cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 or higher, be currently enrolled at Gateway, completed 19 semester credit hours in a certificate or diploma program through Gateway, established academic excellence, ethical conduct and recognized qualities as determined by faculty and be in good standing with Gateway's business office in order to be acknowledged for induction into NTHS.

New PTK members are:

Nahiane Aitsalih, Florence
Donna Arlinghaus, Ft Mitchell
Stephen Bernhard, Batavia, Ohio
Tracy Brady, Walton
Samantha Bronson, Covington
Deanna Bruemmer, Independence
Jamie Coffman, Walton
Denise Cull, Southgate
Tabetha Currier, Independence
Robin Denny, Taylor Mill
George Donaldson, Jr., Crittenden
Patricia Emerson, Covington
Melissa Ferguson, Dry Ridge
Jessica Fornash, Covington
Kimberly Gasdorf, Alexandria
Michael Gentry, Erlanger
Jennifer Hacker, Independence
Jennifer Hammons, Erlanger
Phillip Lipscomb, Walton
James Millsap, Burlington
Jaime Moellman, Foster
Andrea Murray, Maysville
Daniel Nordwick, Alexandria
Brenda Rice, Covington
James Sears, Sparta
Holly Shakya, Fort Thomas
Tracy Shirden, Erlanger
Stanley Simonton, Alexandria
Carrie Smith, Covington
Veronica Solorza, Cincinnati
Alexander Talbert, Florence
Bobbie Walters, Covington
Lisa Weitgraven, Walton

The nine new NTHS members are:

Alison Baker, Independence
Tina Conradi, Hebron
Tamara Farmer, Burlington
Paula Kennedy, Hebron
Melinda Maier, Lakeside Park
James Olbert, Florence
Terri Rainey, Independence
Shirley Stivers, Bellevue
Jennifer Wesselman, Walton

For more information, please contact Amy Monson, Coordinator of Career Service at (859) 442-1149, or Steve Popple, Coordinator of Institutional Research at (859) 442-1189.

Caption for attached photo: Front row from left: Gateway President/CEO G. Edward Hughes, Denise Cull, Patricia Emerson, Andrea Murray, Daniel Nordwick, Jennifer Wesselman, Holly Shakya and Deanna Bruemmer. Back row from left: Bobbie Walters, Kim Gasdorf, Jamie Coffman, Lisa Weitgraven, Melinda Maier, and Terri Rainey.