Gateway Students Select Three for Student Choice Awards | GCTC

Gateway Students Select Three for Student Choice Awards

Gwen White of Cincinnati, Dr. Larry Doug Neuspickle of Latonia, and Colleen Kane of Highland Heights were the Student Choice award winners for the 2013-14 academic year at Gateway Community & Technical College. Winners were announced Thursday during the colleges commencement ceremony in Covington.

The Student Choice awards are given annually in a process managed by Gateway students who conceived of the awards several years ago to recognize faculty and staff members who go above and beyond to help students succeed.

"The best faculty and staff members excel at both delivering information and inspiring success by our students," said Marinell Brown, associate provost of academic affairs, in announcing the winners.

White is professor of computer literacy. According to her students, Not only does she make sure that you understand your class, but she strives to make you feel relaxed and comfortable. It makes for a fantastic learning experience.

Dr. Neuspickle is a part-time psychology instructor. A student who nominated him wrote, He is the funniest psychologist I have encountered! He was able to make a Saturday, 8 a.m., three-hour class something I was excited about each week. He built my inner strength with his encouraging words.

Kane is director of student support services, a program designed to help first-generation students and others stay in school and succeed. Comments on her nomination form say, When I started Gateway over two years ago, she encouraged me to believe in myself. When I slipped sideways in my classes, she emailed me and helped me set up tutors. I believe she cares about me and my success in school.

The nomination and selection process is managed by students on a confidential basis.

The care and concern shown by these employees for our students is indicative of the commitment our entire faculty and staff have made to help our students reach their goals, said Ed Hughes, Gateway president/CEO.