Gateway Honors Outstanding Students at Awards Convocation | GCTC

Gateway Honors Outstanding Students at Awards Convocation

We are pleased to honor the best and the brightest at Gateway, said Dr. Vic Adams, interim president/CEO of Gateway Community & Technical College. These students represent the future of our region, and we proudly recognize them as Gateway students.

Julie Grupy and Matthew L. Malatt receive top honors as recipients of the J.D. Patton Award for academic and technical excellence. The Student Nursing Organization earns the award for Best Student Organization of the Year.

Recipients are selected by faculty and staff committees, and academic divisions based on student performance. Students receiving awards include:

Student Affairs Awards
Outstanding Student Tutor of the Year, Rachael Meier
Student Organization Officer of the Year, Katherine Gibson
Influential Leader Award, Mary Jo Hensley
KCTCS All-Academic Team, Julie Grupy, and Naseema Bibi Mohedin
Spirit of Project ASPIRE, Christina Hicks
Project ASPIRE Graduate of Distinction, Pearl Sanchez
Spirit of Inspiration, Keara Carter and Stephanie Holt
Student Veteran of the Year Award, Ben Barton
Federal Work Study Employee of the Year, Cody Collins
Peer Mentoring Award, Heather Egan

Manufacturing and Trades Technologies Awards
2016 Outstanding Apprentice, Christopher Webster
Outstanding Manufacturing and Engineering Co-op Student, Nate Stewart
Outstanding Manufacturing and Engineering Student, Brandon Hartke
Raise the Floor Award, Rebecca Miller-Selby
Industrial Leadership Award, Dave Rassche
Outstanding Apprentice Machinists, Michael Dalrymple, Daniel Gose, Neal Weichman
Outstanding Computerized Manufacturing amp; Machining Student, Brandon Hartke

Adult Education Awards
Adult Education Outstanding Student Award Boone County, Amy Strunk
Adult Education Outstanding Student Award Kenton County, Crystal Chandler
Adult Education Outstanding Student Award Grant County, Melissa Schmidt
Adult Education Outstanding Student Award Owen County, Johnathan Rudde
ESL (English as a Second Language) Award, Patricia Antao

Transportation Technologies Awards
Automotive Technology Best Student Award,James Miller
Ford Asset Certificates, Jake Burlile, Bradley Creech, Shane Devary, Aaron Spaw, Eli Withered

Arts and Sciences Awards
English Department Voices Poetry Contest 1st Jordan West, 2nd Alexander Marshall, 3rd Katie Daniels
English Department Voices Flash Fiction Contest
1st Grace Hatfield, 2nd Katie Daniels, 3rd Michelle Hardman
English Department Voices Essay Contest,
1st Collin Humphrey, 2nd Amanda Nurlu, 3rd Brittany Bishop
English Department Writer of Distinction, Alexander Marshall
Voices Black amp; White Photography Contest
1st Joseph Radenhausen, 2nd Nick Tobler, 3rd Leah Wafford
Inductees into Phi Rho Pi, Katie Curry, JT Edelbroich, Sawyere Edelbroich
Outstanding Developmental Reading Award, Ruth Godinez Mendieta
Outstanding Developmental Writing Award, Lyndsey McNabb
Deger-Hall Historian of the Year Award, Thomas Ebenschweiger
Psychology Thinker of the Year, Jennifer Miller
Political Science Scholar of the Year, Jarred Frank
Outstanding Medical Microbiology Award, Rachel Meier
Basic Anatomy and Physiology Student of the Year Award, Jessica Allender
Anatomy and Physiology II Student of the Year Award, Steven E. Golden
Anatomy and Physiology I Student of the Year Award, Josh Kemp
Environmental Science Award of Excellence, Johnathan Gruwell
Outstanding Introduction to Biology Award, Chrissy Schmidt
Aspects of Human Biology Award, Brandon Daniel
The Physics Award, Holly Pleiman
Outstanding Geology Student Award, Katie Daniels
Outstanding Student in College Mathematics, Kendra Cook

Protective and Professional Services Awards
Criminal Justice Academic Excellence Awards, Jonathan William McClain and Robert Anthony Himes
Early Childhood Education Spirit Award, Nicole Pauly
Early Childhood Education Butterfly Award, April Slusher
Early Childhood Education Leadership Award, Tammy Bleha
Early Childhood Education Scholar Award, Rhonda Schneider
Outstanding Teaching the Exceptional Children Student, Katie Fuller
Most Improved Education Student, Jessica Augsbach
Above and Beyond Education Student, Clara Evans
Outstanding Educational Psychology Student, Stephen Collier
Outstanding Introduction to Education Student, Elizabeth Rowe

Business, Design and Technology Awards
Outstanding Visual Communication Students
1st Carly Hummel, 2nd Jared Dicus, 3rd Emily Hornsby, 3rd April Bentley
CIT Spirit of Perseverance, Ras Tafari
Outstanding CIT Student Programming Award, Claude Rogers III
Outstanding CIT Network Administration Student Award, Mayle Ricky Lee
Outstanding CIT Information Security Student Award, Ritchie David Aaron

Nursing and Allied Health Division Awards
Medical Information Technology Student of the Year,Kristen Turner
Medical Assistant Student of the Year, Adara Holbrook
Massage Therapy Student of the Year, Tabatha Meade
Student Phlebotomist of the Year, Ginny Morrison
Human Services Program Make a Difference Award, Alexis Hansel
Human Services Program Outstanding Student, Stella Massey
Spirit of Nursing, Sarah Poe