Gateway Faculty Recognized with Student Choice and New Horizons Awards | GCTC

Gateway Faculty Recognized with Student Choice and New Horizons Awards

New Horizons Winners Mike Riley, Doug Penix and Rebecca TuemlerGateway Community & Technical College recognized outstanding faculty at the colleges 15th annual commencement ceremony at the Northern Kentucky Convention Center.

We are so proud of all of our excellent staff and faculty, said Dr. Vic Adams, Gateway interim president/CEO. Our celebration of student success would not be complete without recognizing our outstanding employees who got them there.

The New Horizons Excellence Awards are designed by the Kentucky Community and Technical College System to allow employees to honor the accomplishments of their peers.

Employees at each of the 16 colleges have the opportunity to identify three of their peers for statewide recognition. Then, one from each of three categories is selected for having made the most significant contribution in the state that year.

The New Horizons Excellence Award winners for Gateway are Mike Riley, business instructor, faculty recognition; Doug Penix, associate vice president for academic services, administrative staff, and Rebecca Tuemler, senior administrative assistant, support staff.

Student Choice Awards, developed and determined by the students, are based on the following criteria: expressing respect, care and genuine concern for students; demonstrating a positive image of Gateway; creating an atmosphere where all students can participate in the learning experience, and going above and beyond normal expectations.

The Student Choice Award winners are Mary Hils, adjunct business faculty; Chelsea Law, math faculty, and Teresa Mehler, academic advisor.

The best faculty and the best staff members excel at igniting the desire to learn and connecting with students to inspire success, said Dr. Teri Vonhandorf, vice president of academic affairs. These are the employees we recognize tonight.

Gateway is now enrolling for summer classes. For more information, call 855.3GO-GCTC.

Student Choice Winners Mary Hils, Teresa Mehler and Chelsea Law