Gateway honors outstanding students at Night of Excellence | GCTC

News Archive

Gateway honors outstanding students at Night of Excellence

Published on May 15, 2019

Gateway Community & Technical College recognized over 80 students, from adult education to Gateway’s seven academic and technical divisions, at the Night of Excellence awards ceremony, Tuesday, May 14. These students exemplify dedication, leadership and success, both in the classroom and beyond.

“We are pleased recognize our students who have discovered and excelled in their talents here at Gateway,” said Dr. Fernando Figueroa, president of Gateway Community & Technical College. “We know they will continue to do so, and their contributions will improve not only their quality of life, but the quality of our entire community.”

The Night of Excellence Awards Ceremony celebrates students who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in leadership and/or their particular field of study.

“The Board and I congratulate our outstanding students,” said Dr. Julie Ann Smith-Morrow, Gateway Community & Technical College Board Chair. “We are proud one day they will say, ‘we got our start at Gateway.’ Here, students of all interests, ages and backgrounds can get the education they need to achieve their goals.”

The Gateway Community & Technical College Foundation sponsors this student recognition event each year. “The Foundation is very pleased to support the students, staff and faculty who make Gateway the great institution it is,” said Steve Brunson, Gateway Foundation Chair.

Tamara Arellano and Momoka T. Kinder receive top honors as recipients of the J.D. Patton Award for academic and technical excellence.

Recipients are selected by faculty and staff committees, and academic divisions based on student performance. Students receiving awards include:

Awards for Student Affairs

Federal Work Study Student Employee of the Year - Casey E. Jones

KCTCS All Academic Team Award - Nathan Harrigan and Elizabeth Studer

Organization of the Year - Student Nurse Organization

Outstanding Peer Mentoring Award - Marissa Winkle

Outstanding Tutor of the Year  - Magdaline Raeanne Thompson

Spirit of Inspiration - Devon Hoffman

Spirit of TRIO- Project ASPIRE - Jamie Galliher

Student Engagement Leadership Award - Tamara Arellano

TRIO- Project ASPIRE Graduate of Distinction - Tara Tucker

Awards for Academic Affairs

National Technical Honor Society - Josephine Gray, Jason Oberschmidt, Samuel L. Steele, Lisa Stewart and Andrew Tofflemire

Awards for Adult Education Division

Adult Education Outstanding Student Award—Boone County - Phillip McCoy

Adult Education Outstanding Student Award—Kenton County - Wesley Williams

ESL (English as a Second Language) Award - Jinae Lee

Awards for Arts & Sciences Division

Anatomy and Physiology I Student of the Year - Rebecca Lynn Simpson

Anatomy and Physiology II Student of the Year - Magdaline Raeanne Thompson

Biological Sciences Pathway Student of the Year - Jheri Burch and Morgan Willett

Deger-Hall Historian Of the Year Award - Autumn Wolfe

English Department Writer of Distinction - Cecilia Vanderputten

Environmental Science Award of Excellence - Ashton L. Quiogue

Outstanding Developmental Reading Student - Mohamed Sao

Outstanding Developmental Writing Student - Katherine Perdue

Outstanding Introduction to Biology Student - Abigail Lauren Woodward

Outstanding Medical Microbiology Student - Cara L. Ballas

Outstanding Student in College Mathematics - Ric Smith

Outstanding Student in College Statistics - Tala Masri

Phi Rho Pi Inductees - Noah Braden, Frank Green and Sarafina Sobczak

Phi Rho Pi Member of Highest Distinction - J. Adam Lahner

Physics Award - Linh Nguyen

Psychology Thinker of the Year - Sarah Douglas

Voices Black & White Photography Contest - 1st - Tara Tucker

Voices Black & White Photography Contest - 2nd - Jenna Townsend

Voices Black & White Photography Contest - 3rd - Brittany Haney

Voices Essay Contest - 1st - Jonathan Guzman

Voices Essay Contest - 2nd - Amie Hatton

Voices Essay Contest - 3rd - Elizabeth A. Brown

Voices Flash Fiction Contest - 1st - Jake Shinkle

Voices Flash Fiction Contest - 2nd - Mattiah Johnson

Voices Flash Fiction Contest - 3rd - Bettie Tippett

Voices Poetry Contest - 1st - Margo Roysdon

Voices Poetry Contest - 2nd - Jamie Galliher

Voices Poetry Contest - 3rd - Sarah Douglas

Awards for Business, Information Technology & Professional Studies Division

CIT Spirit of Perseverance - Samuel L. Steele

Criminal Justice Academic Excellence Award - Camryn Cole, Jennifer Kougios and Lory Singleton

Early Childhood Education Leadership Award - Allison Burchfield

Early Childhood Education Scholar Award - Elizabeth Craver

Outstanding Business Administration Student - Jessica Davidson, Taylor Jacobs and Elizabeth Studer

Outstanding CIT Cyberdefense Award - Momoka T. Kinder

Outstanding CIT Information Security Student - Kevin A. Cain

Outstanding CIT Network Administration Student - Tyler Austin Poe

Outstanding CIT Programming Student - Tommy Schwerman

Outstanding Educational Psychology Student - Ian Lyons

Outstanding Introduction to Education Student - Kacia Smith

Outstanding Supply Chain Management Student - Timothy Leiprecht

Outstanding Teaching Exceptional Learners Student - Paulina Madrid Cortez

Outstanding Technology in the Classroom Student Award - Britanie Murphy

Awards for Health Professions Division

Heart of the Nurse - Shannon Wood

Human Services Make a Difference Award - James Scott Orcena

Human Services Outstanding Student - Chandra Huff

Massage Therapy Student of the Year - Erica Laaker

Nurse Aide Student of the Year - Rahma Farah

Nursing Academic Scholar Award - David Alex Godbey

Nursing Clinical Recognition Award - Samantha Marinacci

Outstanding Health Information Technology Student - Andrew Tofflemire

Outstanding HIT Medical Coding Student - Melissa S. Lunnemann

Student Medical Assistant of the Year - Emily Breedlove

Student Nurse Organization Award - Tiffany Dodenhoff

Student Phlebotomist of the Year - Matthew Williams

Awards for Manufacturing & Engineering Division

Air Conditioning Technology Student of the Year - Gregory Ray Clark

Industrial Leadership Award - Brad Sipple

Awards for Transportation Technologies Division

Automotive Technology Student of the Year - Alexander Reinzan

Diesel Repair Technology Student of the Year - Isaias Olguin-Sanchez

Ford Asset Certificate - Brett Bellamy, Jordan Kelley, Scott Mrozinski, Anthony Painter, Josh Payton and Aaron Tillman