News Archive

Gateway Students Select Student Government Officers for 2014-2015

Gateway Community & Technical College students have selected Student Government Association officers for the coming academic year.

Members of the Executive Council include DaShawntae Durham of Covington, president; Stewart Newburger, Taylor Mill, executive vice president; and Burgandi Turner, Covington, treasurer. The office of secretary remains open.

Members of the Senate Michael Braswell, senator for public relations; Katrina Sprankel, Covington ; Leo Christen, Independence; Erik Jackson, Fort Wright; Heather Egan, Newport; Michael Read, Covington; Christopher Ludwig, Independence; Abbigayle Williams, Florence; and Tyler Mason, Union.

SGA officers serve a one-year term. Durham also was elected as the new student representative to the Gateway board of directors. His term begins in August.

SGA furnishes a representative body of students to reflect the opinions and wishes of the student body at large. In addition, SGA coordinates and maintains student activities and volunteer opportunities and promotes administration policy acceptable to the student body.